The Junior League of Jacksonville Presents Leadership Awards

The Junior League of Jacksonville brought 2016 to a close honoring the women and committees who are striving to lead the Jacksonville organization and to be a force for change in the community. The awards ceremony, held on May 3rd at the Junior League of Jacksonville Headquarters, the Riverside House, located in Riverside.  The event brought out the active and sustaining members and their families together to celebrate what was “A BOLD Year.”

The Junior League of Jacksonville is comprised of some of the most influential and accomplished women in the area and the following women are among the best and brightest of 2016:

Committee of the Year Recipient: Unique Boutique Committee 

The Unique Boutique is a successful shop-for-a-cause event at the Riverside House. The funds raised supported the organization and work in  the community for the years to come.

Spirit of the League Recipient: Alyssa Young Castillo

Alyssa Young Castillo led the vendor coordination at the Unique Boutique. A brick will be placed in front of the Riverside House in her memory.

Volunteer of the Year: Beth Briand

Beth Briand served as Vice-Chair of the Done-In-A-Day committee, advisor to new members, worked on website management projects, and, completed 44 volunteer hours this year.  This amazing volunteer also works as a pharmacist and volunteers for several other non-profits throughout Jacksonville!

Leader of the Year Recipient: Lori Baylor   

Lori Baylor served at the new member committee chair and dedicated efforts to educating 84 new members about the legacy of the League, the mission, community programs.

Special Recognition: Mary Catherine Hartley 

Mary Catherine Hartley launched the Little Black Dress Initiative, raising over $8,000 from 216 donors for community programs while raising awareness of the Junior League of Jacksonville through a five-day social media campaign where 47 members wore a little black dress each day for five days and made social media posts.

Pamela Y. Paul Service Award Recipient: Murika Davis

Julia Howard and Murika Davis

Photo credit: Tim Brown Photography

The Pam Paul Community Service Award recognizes volunteerism in the Junior League and throughout the greater community. Murika Davis served as chair of the CARES committee where Junior League of Jacksonville members volunteer at several Duval County public schools on Saturday to assist teachers and students with additional study and test preparation.  Murika Davis is actively engaged in supporting our public schools by volunteering, having participated on a steering committee for North Shore Elementary, serving on the PTA for Central Riverside, and volunteering at schools on Saturday this year.

Tillie K. Fowler Community Service Award Recipient: Julia Howard

The Tillie Fowler Service Award honors a sustaining member of the Junior League of Jacksonville that has gone on to do extraordinary work and impact the community.  As a member, Julia Howard chaired the Whale of a Sale, the Festival of Trees, the Nominating Committee, and the 80th anniversary gala.  As a sustaining member, Julia Howard has been called upon to help with the Friends of Jacksonville University Library, the Women’s Board of Wolfson Children’s Hospital, Florida Forum Program, the Girl Scouts Gateway Council, and Solace for the Children, and raised over $400k Sanctuary on 8th Street.

A list of previous Junior League of Jacksonville Award recipients can be found here.

2016 Junior League of Jacksonville Awards Press Release